White Rose Riding Club
White Rose Riding Club

Club History


White Rose Riding Club is one of the oldest riding clubs in the North of England.  It was founded in 1965 by the late Mrs Hazel Holmes and supported by a very strong committee of local equine dignitaries, including the president at the time Mr Staveley Stephenson and the chairman, veterinary surgeon Mr WB Quarmby. The annual show for the riding club was, at that time, held at Dalton Park by kind permission of Lord Hotham who is still an active supporter of the club. They organised a large number of inter club competitions alongside club events with the annual show, hunter trials and long distance rides.


When the club had its official opening by Mr Rudi Yurkschat in June 1965, Mrs Hazel Holmes presented the club with a colt foal named Nevada (a variety of white rose) as the club's mascot. Nevada was the son of Judy, a little mare who carried Nigel Holmes from London to Welton during the emulation of Dick Turpin's ride. His sire was a lovely arab stallion called Starguard.


Over the years we have had some very strong teams who have represented the club at Stoneleigh, winning the championships on more than one occasion. Team members including showjumpers David Walmsley and David Sowersby and equine commentator Tony Wilson went on to become members of the committee, Tony Wilson being the club Chairman and President. Our current president, BSJA judge Mr Albert Grant has been President since 1989, being Chairman before that. Other

members of our teams included Trish Mason who went on to win the Foxhunter championships at Cheltenham, event riders Alex Hilyard, Carol Gee and Ogin Crane and dressage riders Toni Wilson, Fran Smith, Jenny Venter and Clarissa Hall.


Our current Chairperson Jill Banks joined the club in 1969 as part of the quadrille team with Jane Wright, Patsy Haslam and Patrick Burstall.  The quadrille team were successful at the inter club championships, making it through the qualifiers at Butlins in Filey to compete at HOYS. Jill Banks has been and still is an active member of the riding club; she was an international showjumper in the 1950s, has won point to points and has represented the club in national Dressage competitions from 1969 onwards and has been Chairperson since 1989.


Creating a list of the people who have supported, been regular members, committee members, and team members would be near impossible; however, suffice to say White Rose Riding Club is lucky enough to have a strong committee of excellent equine professionals who are always on hand for help and advice whatever your chosen discipline. With your help we aim to make our club bigger and stronger every year.

Your Committee

Chairperson - Jill Banks

June Pratt

Sue Wiles

Angela Loughlin

Liz Smith

Sophie Webb

Kerrie Featherstone

Fiona Simpson

Sam Rozenbroek - Teams

Print Print | Sitemap
© White Rose Riding Club 2015